The Pretty Picture (Day 18)

This piece is by Isabel Rasmussen the co-creator of Beauty Mirror iPhone App and organizer of this blog.

The Beauty Message Challenge is about seeing ourselves as beautiful exactly as we are by recognizing what makes us beautiful on the inside and out.  Here is a question I have been pondering in regards to the process.  If I make a poster with a picture of myself that says I am beautiful, which picture should I use – the one that I look really hot with lots of makeup and fake eyelashes or one of the many photos that I want to push the delete button after seeing because I think I look bad.

This process is about building self confidence which to me means being able to see myself as beautiful always.  So do I use the photo I do not like and work to see myself as beautiful no matter what?  I want to say yes but it is so much easier to believe in/ to see myself as beautiful in the “hot” photo.  I  would love to hear from others on what they are doing to see and believe in their beauty.

About isabelrasmussen

Three generations of women in my family raised me until first grade, amongst them I was taught how wonderful it was to be a girl. In my tween years I was confronted with many of the social challenges other girls face and my self confidence dwindled. I think it was going from being so proud of being a girl to struggling so much as a girl and reading of all the struggles that women faced that motivated me throughout my life. I received her undergraduate degree in Women’s Studies at UW and then worked in domestic violence and as a community organizer in San Francisco. At 26 I took the opportunity to live in Guatemala for a year and West Africa for a summer. I returned to the US and in 2008 obtained a Green MBA at Dominican University in San Rafael.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

