Why You’re Better Than A Disney Princess (Day 19)

This piece is by the young, talented, and beautiful McKenzie Brodnick, learn more about her at Feel Good Each Day.

My 70-year-old Grandmother told me the other day, “Don’t strive to be hot. Hot is common. Strive to be beautiful.” I love grandmothers.

However, I have some bad news: in order to become beautiful we must first mourn the fact that we are not Disney princesses, things will not one day be magically perfect.   We will have to work at our goals.

Being beautiful is demanding, and annoying, and frustrating. Princess Jasmine is not going to sit there and tell you that she works out six days a week, eats balanced healthy meals, and goes to therapy for the death of her mother, her over protective father and the fact that her only friend is a tiger. I can guarantee that every glamorous woman you know, despite how care-free they appear, constantly works and thinks of ways to better themselves. Want to know why it’s not talked about so openly? Because no one wants to hear that it takes so much work; it’s depressing if you’re not doing those things.

But here’s the good news: once you accept that being beautiful on the inside and out takes work, life gets better!  We all have to go through mourning because after mourning comes acceptance and then a rebirth. The mourning process is simply realizing that we are not all born looking like Giselle and no amount of wishing will change that. Also, hating the women who do look like Giselle doesn’t do any good either because they are working just as hard as you are, trust me. Accept the fact that your amazing body molds and changes, and then you can shape it and love it.

My advice: stop thinking, start doing. Every time I think about how much weight I want to loose, or the amount of exercise I don’t feel like doing, or the food I shouldn’t eat, I get overwhelmed and then defeated. Every. Time.

When I stop thinking about how it makes me feel, when I just shut up and do it, things change and I feel better. With the Beauty Message Challenge you may start thinking, “But I am not beautiful” and then fail to complete the challenge.  So do it, stand in front of the mirror and tell yourself  “I am beautiful”.  Keep doing it until you can feel the truth in it.  Also takes steps to help yourself feel more beautiful such as eating healthy, getting a manicure, or putting on a tiara!

And one last beautiful thought, you will always be better than a Disney Princess because you are a living a breathing wonderful woman. They are cartoons. You win.

About isabelrasmussen

Three generations of women in my family raised me until first grade, amongst them I was taught how wonderful it was to be a girl. In my tween years I was confronted with many of the social challenges other girls face and my self confidence dwindled. I think it was going from being so proud of being a girl to struggling so much as a girl and reading of all the struggles that women faced that motivated me throughout my life. I received her undergraduate degree in Women’s Studies at UW and then worked in domestic violence and as a community organizer in San Francisco. At 26 I took the opportunity to live in Guatemala for a year and West Africa for a summer. I returned to the US and in 2008 obtained a Green MBA at Dominican University in San Rafael.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

