Puffy lips don’t make you beautiful or do they?

Can changing your appearance have you clearly see that you were already beautiful and that the change was unnecessary?

I visited a friend who the day prior had gotten her first lip injection.  There was some bruising and she felt like she had duck lips and was really regretting the decision.  She got the lip injection because she had always been dissatisfied with how small her upper lip was.  As her friend, I never noticed how small her lip was but am often envious of how toned and fit she is and that she has the endurance to ride her bike 20-30 miles.  Once again I am reminded of how we focus on what we do not like about ourselves rather than all that makes us beautiful.  We need to focus more on what is fabulous about ourselves – that is exactly why I made the application Beauty Mirror. I wonder if my friend used my iPhone app every day for 10 days prior to going to the doctor if she would have done it?  And at the same time,  I do not disagree with her decision because it is fun to experiment with beauty that is why my hair has been blond, brown, red, black, and cotton candy pink.

Changing how we look can lead to a variety of emotions from joy to horror.  The process of changing her face gave my friend more appreciation of what she looks like everyday, that her smaller lips perfectly fit her face and make her beautiful.

My friend was feeling really bad about her appearance and embarrassed by what others may think of her new lips.  I recommend that she enjoy the new lips, wear bright lip stick and have fun with it.  The worst thing she could do is feel bad about something she could not change.

We play with our beauty with the clothes we buy, our make-up, new hair cuts or colors, and sometimes with plastic things being put on or in us.  I encourage us to see what we do with beauty as a choice and as play rather than as fixing ourselves.  While playing dress up we, as my friend did, may discover that we are actually most beautiful with the lips we were born with.  We may also discover, as I did, that we are even more eye pleasing with long fake eyelashes but grateful that they are removable.

Enjoy your beauty with or without the puffy lips, but never forget that who you are is  beautiful.

About isabelrasmussen

Three generations of women in my family raised me until first grade, amongst them I was taught how wonderful it was to be a girl. In my tween years I was confronted with many of the social challenges other girls face and my self confidence dwindled. I think it was going from being so proud of being a girl to struggling so much as a girl and reading of all the struggles that women faced that motivated me throughout my life. I received her undergraduate degree in Women’s Studies at UW and then worked in domestic violence and as a community organizer in San Francisco. At 26 I took the opportunity to live in Guatemala for a year and West Africa for a summer. I returned to the US and in 2008 obtained a Green MBA at Dominican University in San Rafael.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

