The Ugly Side of Beauty Makeover Reality Shows

I was driving my car the other day and listening to a local public talk radio station.  On the show, Snap Judgment, Rebecca Hertz was sharing her experience of working on a reality TV show in which the women went through dramatic plastic surgery to be attractive.  The show claimed to be improving the womens self esteem their transforming them on the outside.  But is that possible?  Does looking great on the outside transform someone to feeling great on the inside?  It reminds me of the article we posted The Swan Who Thinks Like An Ugly Duckling, our negative self talk often continues.  I do not believe reality shows like this one help women.  I wanted to share this piece because it does what the reality show did not in that it shares what the experience was really like.  It also points out how our environment changes how we think, and women surrounded by plastic surgery begin obsessing over pieces of themselves.  Please take a few minutes to click on the link and then listen to the segment “Only Volunteers”.

http://snapjudgment.org/plasticity-episode-109

About isabelrasmussen

Three generations of women in my family raised me until first grade, amongst them I was taught how wonderful it was to be a girl. In my tween years I was confronted with many of the social challenges other girls face and my self confidence dwindled. I think it was going from being so proud of being a girl to struggling so much as a girl and reading of all the struggles that women faced that motivated me throughout my life. I received her undergraduate degree in Women’s Studies at UW and then worked in domestic violence and as a community organizer in San Francisco. At 26 I took the opportunity to live in Guatemala for a year and West Africa for a summer. I returned to the US and in 2008 obtained a Green MBA at Dominican University in San Rafael.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

